Wrapping around

24 Jun

My grandma used to tell me not to throw away anything, as you never know if you will need it sooner or later.

So when I found some spare parts of memory wire I thought twice before trashing them, maybe I could use them somehow. And I did. I think I can say this is my first piece of jewellery made with recycled material.



For the skeleton I used the memory wire I had, lucky me the pieces were almost of the same length. I didn’t work the wire as I found out that memory wire is very hard (I’m still a beginner, don’t blame me) so I simply bent it. Then I wrapped all with silver wire and added some red rocailles as I thought they would show up greatly on that background.

Wrapping memories


What about you? Have you ever made up something with the remnants of previous creations?


You might also like:

Memory in green

My first copper necklace








4 Responses to “Wrapping around”

  1. Cutelicious June 27, 2011 at 20:35 #

    Great job!!!
    I love “recycling”! It is always such a great feeling to create something from things that you had lying around and did not have any use for otherwise! πŸ™‚ Also it helps to reduce “shopping for crafting” – which is always a good thing as it means less money spend … πŸ™‚

    Love

    Ursula

    • chicandfrog June 27, 2011 at 22:45 #

      Thank you Ursula and welcome!
      You are right, reusing old things prevents people from spending more money, but I am afraid that in my case it just gives me an excuse to spend those “saved” money in something else… I think I am addicted.

      Liebe Grüße,
      Ambra

  2. Antonietta June 25, 2011 at 08:13 #

    Ciao! Bellissima l’idea di riutilizzare i pezzi di scarto del memory wire. Tra l’altro non Γ¨ proprio semplice da maneggiare, quindi complimenti doppi. Molto originali gli orecchini!!
    Ciao!
    Antonietta.

    • chicandfrog June 25, 2011 at 08:53 #

      Ciao Antonietta! Un doppio grazie per i complimenti, che fanno sempre piacere.
      Da quando mi sono accorta che butto troppo filo metallico, ho iniziato a salvare alcuni scarti di lavorazione. Dopo tutto, le forme create lavorando il filo sono libere e senza schemi, quindi ben venga tutto!
      A presto,
      Ambra

Leave a Reply

