Going vintage…

6 Aug

It’s been a while since last time I made a pair of earrings. Lately it’s all about bracelets and necklaces and studying new techniques. So I needed this travel back to my origins.

Last week I posted a picture of four tear-drops frame made with memory wire and some beads. After some pain, I made these:

It took a lot of work for me to understand how to keep frames in place and how to wire them. I did and undid several times but in the end I figured out a technique that could work for me.

I used liver of sulphur to oxidize the silver wire and as a result I obtained a very nice gold effect. The little amethyst hanging in the middle was added to emphasize the void and to lighten the structure.

As you can see from the close-up, I struggled with the wire. Even now, I have no idea how to prevent the wire from wrapping and twisting upon itself. Do you have any tips that you would like to share?

Have a good weekend!

You might also like:

Wrapping around

A cuff from the future

Leave a Reply

