Challenge of Color – Reveal day!

30 Nov

In this very moment, 54 creative persons are publishing a post. True story and at the end of this post I will give you the entire list so that you can check by yourself.

Why now? Well, because today at 7:00 am CST (or 2:00 pm if your watch speaks German) officially begins the Challenge of Color Blog Hop hosted by Erin of Treasures Found.

Enough with the chatter, it’s time to show what I did with the palette created by Jessica Colaluca of Design Seeds that Erin chose for me.

First of all, the palette.

Really, really nice.

I didn’t want to use my usual browns or pinks or reds so I pick up a family colour not so common for me: teal.

When I first saw the palette I knew that I was going to use that particular shade of yellow to create a nice contrast. And to make things more challenging I decided to go with fabric as well.

New colours and new materials: this was a real challenge. Luckily I had clear in my mind what I was going to do and…

Swarovski beads in petrol and green shades (it looks more like blue in the picture, but I swear it’s not), wrinkled silk fabric in a neutral shade and ceramic beads…

I shouldn’t be the one telling this, but I am quite happy of what I made considering that I walked in a zone completely new for me.

And now that I showed you my creation, here is the whole list of partecipants. Have fun hopping around!

18 Tari Kahrs ~ Orange ~ Citrus Tones
23 Amy Severino ~ Orange ~ Winged Tones
28 Linda Landig ~ Green ~ Cacti Dark
35 CJ Bauschka ~ Teal ~ Teal Air
41 Jenni Connolly ~ Gray ~ Paw Tones



64 Responses to “Challenge of Color – Reveal day!”

  1. Donetta December 2, 2012 at 22:02 #

    I can’t tell you how much I love this bracelet…it’s absolutely beautiful. I am completely inspired by your use of ribbon, beads, and metal…it’s stunning!

    • chicandfrog December 3, 2012 at 20:52 #

      Ribbon? πŸ˜€

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Linda Landig December 17, 2011 at 20:00 #

    Kudos to you for pushing yourself beyond your comfort zone. You did a great job. I love the color and texture that the silk added.

    • chicandfrog December 18, 2011 at 14:11 #

      Thank you Linda! Challenge are made for this, no?

      Ambra

  3. Susan Kennedy December 6, 2011 at 00:59 #

    Very nice! I love the colors you used! The silk is gorgeous!

    • chicandfrog December 6, 2011 at 19:08 #

      Erin matched me with a great palette, I cannot take credit for that. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for stopping by!
      Ambra

  4. Kristi December 4, 2011 at 23:32 #

    Lovely bracelet! I love the mix of beads and silk!

  5. amy December 4, 2011 at 00:35 #

    Really pretty! I love that it is multi strand

  6. CraftyHope December 3, 2011 at 16:26 #

    Ambra! Wonderful job stepping out of your comfort zone and creating something that makes you so happy. That’s all that is important isn’t it? I think it’s a beautiful piece and I congratulate you on working with the fabric as it’s something i haven’t brought myself to much of yet. YAY! Great work!

  7. Kristen December 2, 2011 at 15:00 #

    Great use of colors and fiber.

  8. Kristina (aka Maneki) December 1, 2011 at 20:50 #

    Lovely bracelet! I like the contrast between the ribbon and the linked bead “strands” in the bracelet — and the contrast between soft (the silk) and hard (beads, metal). Well done!

    • chicandfrog December 1, 2011 at 22:47 #

      Thank you Kristina. I just realized that contrasts can work pretty well together.

      Ambra

  9. Shannon C December 1, 2011 at 15:55 #

    pretty you can’t tell you were out of your zone.

  10. mkaymac December 1, 2011 at 13:59 #

    Working outside your comfort zone really paid off. Love the color palette and love what you did with it. Of course I always love it when I see ribbon/cloth used as a design element.

    • chicandfrog December 1, 2011 at 22:44 #

      Thank you for stopping by. I am happy you liked my ribbon.
      Ambra

  11. Regina December 1, 2011 at 12:49 #

    What a pretty bracelet, love the mix of beads and silk.

Leave a Reply

