Trying and learning

16 Jan

Last weekend I tried my first serious wrapping.

After seeing some pictures of wrapped beads and a tutorial video, I thought “OK, enough with the studying. Let’s do it!”. Yeah, I am that kind of person. I like learning while doing things rather than reading a complete step by step procedure.

So I took my three pieces of wire and started.

As I was bending the wire around the bead, I soon realized that my wire was too hard. Anyway, I didn’t undo everything and went on with my project.

I added rose/purple beads just to have fun before making the final big hoop. I should have thought better about it, really. Eventually, I could do a hoop and my first wrapped bead pendant was finished.

It’s a basic wrap with a lot of flaws, next one will be better!

5 Responses to “Trying and learning”

  1. CraftyHope January 17, 2012 at 03:49 #

    Wow! I think it looks great!!
    Wire wrapping like this just seems to be one of those things that are especially hard and you’re knocking it out of the park.
    Keep it up. 🙂

    • chicandfrog January 17, 2012 at 07:37 #

      Thank you! It was hard, but because of the wire…
      The next piece is on its way and I have a couple more ideas in my mind.

      Ambra

  2. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) January 16, 2012 at 19:02 #

    I’m very impressed with your first attempt at serious wire wrapping! The beads are such a nice touch.

    — Sarah

    • Sarah (Saturday Sequins) January 16, 2012 at 19:04 #

      And by that, I mean serious attempt at wire wrapping. Whew!

      • chicandfrog January 16, 2012 at 19:35 #

        Thank you Sarah!
        I wore it today and it makes quite an impression. I have received many compliments but at a close look it does have many many flaws.

        Ambra

Leave a Reply

