Tree of life

29 Jan

What happens if you mix up two techniques you don’t master?

I think that the final result depends on the lucky you have and this time luck was on my side.

Last week I stumbled on this youtube video and find it very inspiring. And you know, I had to give it a shot.

I picked a big cherry quartz glass and started my project.

First of all I had to make a sort of bezel to set the pendant. It took me two hours to come up with something decent and workable.

It didn’t look great, but I knew it would have worked. So I took several pieces of wire and from now on it was all a wrap-and-thread work.

At first it looked pretty messy and I felt lost. But I suddenly remembered that there was no thing as wrong nor a pattern to follow. It was just the wire and me. As I realized this, everything became simpler.

Full of hope, I kept wrapping and threading and the next thing I remember was that the design was taking shape.

It all happened in a couple of minutes. I don’t know how, when and why, but a tree was there.

Only the roots were missing and, at this point, they were a piece of cake.

I love it!

19 Responses to “Tree of life”

  1. Terry Pugh February 24, 2012 at 05:49 #

    Ambra, beautiful pendant!!

    Blessings,
    Terry

  2. Terry Pugh February 24, 2012 at 05:48 #

    Beautiful pendant, Ambra!

    Thanks for the ” show n tell” 🙂

    Blessings,
    Terry

  3. Helene February 9, 2012 at 11:35 #

    Stunning! I adore your beautiful tree! Very inspiring!

  4. Andra February 7, 2012 at 06:07 #

    The pendant is fantastic! I always seem to make a mess when I try to wire wrap and then I just give up. Next time I will remember your words “that there was no thing as wrong nor a pattern to follow. It was just the wire and me.” I think I can create something beautiful too. Thank you for the inspiring words.

    • chicandfrog February 7, 2012 at 18:48 #

      For sure you can. Really, the key is to follow the wire. It’s a dance and it leads.

      Ambra

  5. CraftyHope January 31, 2012 at 04:42 #

    OH WOW!!
    Holy cow, this is awesome. You’ve done spectacular!

    • chicandfrog January 31, 2012 at 08:02 #

      Thank you Hope! I’m blushing.

      Ambra

  6. Jewellery By Shalini January 30, 2012 at 09:30 #

    That is really beautiful! Similar to what Heidi has said above, I believe everyone should let the wire take them on a journey and you will discover what joy it can bring. You will also make a special relationship with wire all your own and then there is no stopping what you can create!

    PS Found your blog via Heidi’s Facebook page

    Shalini

    • chicandfrog January 30, 2012 at 19:15 #

      Thank you for stepping by Shalini and welcome. Heidi was so nice to promote me via her Facebook page!
      I like your image of building a special relationship with wire, I will remember that.

      Ambra

  7. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) January 30, 2012 at 07:01 #

    Nice work, Ambra!

    I really like the tree against the wrapped stone. Such a nice twist (pardon the pun) on the tree of life design. 🙂

  8. Christine Hansen January 29, 2012 at 22:07 #

    Oh, Ambra – this is exquisite! You really outdid yourself on this one Girl! Well done! xoxo, c

    • chicandfrog January 29, 2012 at 23:30 #

      Thank you Christine! I get to like making pendants!

      Ambra

  9. Heidi Kingman @MyBeadTherapy January 29, 2012 at 17:05 #

    I love that “it was just the wire and me.” See you can do it because you do have the skill. Mastery of a technique comes with time and practice. It is also rarely acknowledged by the artists themselves because they are always looking to reach the next summit. Enjoy the journey as you create these beautiful things! 🙂

    • chicandfrog January 29, 2012 at 23:23 #

      Thank you Heidi. Really. When I couldn’t figure out how to give a shape to the tree, I remembered that once you wrote me “the stones and the wire tend to have minds of their own”. It was then that I realized I had to follow the wire. So, thank you for the wise words! 🙂

      • Heidi January 30, 2012 at 00:49 #

        I will try to take that relaxed perspective with me as I try out my torch and see if I can make balled wire/headpins today. Yikes!

      • chicandfrog January 30, 2012 at 08:04 #

        You may not believe this, but I was planning to make those pins as well. Be prepared to my load of questions and good work! 🙂

        Ambra

Leave a Reply

