Reuse and reinvent

26 Feb

I have been playing with unconventional material lately and I found out it is a great exercise to boost creativity.

Last Wednesday, I wrote that I wanted to create something using washers (I am still not sure that this is the right term..).

Today I can tell you that my Industrial Revolution collection now features two pairs of earring. And more are coming soon.

This is the first pair I made.

I used LoS to give a rusty, used look.

And this is the second pair, made using smaller washers.

For this pair, I just filed 2 out of 3 discs to create some texture.

Curiously, as my mind was completely absorbed in this reinventing process, I decided that it was time to reinvent a bracelet I made some time ago and that never satisfied me.


It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t nice either.

So I dissembled it and, yes, now I am happy with it.

Does it ever happen to you to undo an old creation?

2 Responses to “Reuse and reinvent”

  1. Sarah (Saturday Sequins) February 27, 2012 at 04:09 #

    This hardware store junkie says, washer is indeed the right term!

    I love your washer earrings. Did you sand the metal to give it that great texture?

    Also, I really like the way you redid your bracelet. The chain and the beads are a nice contrast.

    I’ve definitely taken pieces apart before, like the necklace in this post: http://www.saturdaysequins.com/2011/08/creativity-challenge.html In fact, recently I’ve been adding some things to it, and now it’s finally *really* done!

    • chicandfrog February 27, 2012 at 07:59 #

      Hi Sarah,
      Thank you! Yes, the metal was sanded by hand and it took quite a while to reach that texture.
      At the moment I am wondering if I can solder those washers together…

      I go off to your blog to see the necklace!

      Ambra

Leave a Reply

