Unrelated

29 Feb

” […] I am reminded of an old man who for thirthy years or more sat in the main street of Pune and cleaned shoes. He was terribly crippled, with withered sticks for legs folded on a little wooden trolley. In his youth he was destitute and in despair. Survival seemed impossible. Then one day he began to clean shoes. He had a good chest and gradually his arms strengthened. He was not only the best shoe cleaner in the town, but he was respected and held in friendship by all who passed. […] All he had was a fine chest, prana, sparkling wise eyes reflecting the seer within, and his shoe cleaning equipmente. The Upanishad was right. With just breath and soul and courage, the man achieved a life to be admired.”

B.K.S. Iyengar, Light on Life

I am in a strange mood lately, I am trying to find my direction and when I read this extract this morning I thought: provided that I find my way, will I have the guts to walk it?

2 Responses to “Unrelated”

  1. Kashmira March 1, 2012 at 17:33 #

    Yes, dear! You will have the courage, enthusiasm and a lot of friends walking with you!

    • chicandfrog March 1, 2012 at 19:17 #

      Thank you Kashmira! I really mean it. πŸ™‚

      Ambra

Leave a Reply

