Linking links

17 Aug

Some times ago I bought these glass beads with the idea to make a long necklace. As I saw them I thought that they were born to feature in a necklace with a loose pattern.

Almost at the same time, I decided to take part of Peggy Johnson‘s Link Challenge.

I was so happy when the links finally arrived because 1. they were beautiful and 2. I could use them along with the glass beads to make my necklace (I am a procrastinator, and by the time the packet from Peggy landed in my mail box, I hadn’t yet started to work on my necklace…).

So, I had my idea, my beads, my links, my wire and my holidays to enjoy.

I really didn’t need anything else to realx and work on my project.

Check out Peggy’s blog post for the complete list of all partecipants and vote for your favourite creation!

29 Responses to “Linking links”

  1. Michelle August 22, 2012 at 01:59 #

    I love what you did with the links.. great job.

  2. janeen August 21, 2012 at 06:39 #

    This worked up beautifully!! I love what you did with the links and the beads. They were made for each other. Great job and I am in love with long necklaces right now.

    • chicandfrog August 21, 2012 at 08:25 #

      Thank you Janeen! Attention, long necklaces are addictive!

  3. Shelley Graham Turner August 18, 2012 at 15:41 #

    This reminds me of carmel candies. It looks all creamy and yummy. Very nice use of the links!

    • chicandfrog August 19, 2012 at 08:47 #

      Thanks for the yummy comment Shelley! 🙂

  4. Kashmira August 18, 2012 at 08:22 #

    I love the colors!

  5. Jami Shipp August 18, 2012 at 06:21 #

    Love the color and contrast the materials and beads lend to one another. I am big on asymmetrical pieces – lovely

    • chicandfrog August 18, 2012 at 09:26 #

      Thanks Jamie! I am starting loving asymmetrical pieces too.

  6. Beti Horvath August 17, 2012 at 23:48 #

    Very nice. Loved the combination of glass and plastic Sort of chunky and streamlined at the same time.

    • chicandfrog August 18, 2012 at 09:08 #

      Thank you Beti. Sometimes chunky is good! 🙂

  7. paula hisel August 17, 2012 at 21:41 #

    i love the asymmetrical aspect to it. and the color choice of beads with the links was perfect!

  8. Katherine August 17, 2012 at 21:39 #

    I normally am not one to be drawn to big chunky necklaces but you really did a great job on this. I love the color choice and balance of size in the other stones. Well done.

  9. Terri G. August 17, 2012 at 20:32 #

    Beautifully assembled…the color and scale of the beads works wonderfully with the links.

    • chicandfrog August 17, 2012 at 20:38 #

      Thank you Terri! Big links call for big beads!

  10. Kay August 17, 2012 at 18:48 #

    Very nice. I like the looseness of it and the mixture of the links and the beads. Congrats on getting your loose bead necklace done (even if you did procrastinate) 🙂

    • chicandfrog August 17, 2012 at 20:37 #

      Thank you Kay! I shuold really work on my procrastination issue though… I finished the necklace just in time to send Peggy the pictures…

  11. Sarah August 17, 2012 at 18:08 #

    ooh! That’s lightened the colours up so much! Amazing how different materials make the links have a different feel to them 🙂

    • chicandfrog August 17, 2012 at 20:36 #

      I just wanted something bright and with a summer vibe!

  12. Denielle August 17, 2012 at 15:00 #

    I love this necklace so much I voted for it 🙂 It is just soothing to me when I look at it.

    • chicandfrog August 17, 2012 at 17:43 #

      Thank you Danielle for your comment and the vote! 🙂
      Ambra

  13. JenRen August 17, 2012 at 14:08 #

    Nice job! Your necklace can work with many different outfits and occasions.

  14. Peggy Johnson August 17, 2012 at 14:00 #

    Beautiful! I really love the beads that you used with the links. I swear I thought they were wood at first sight. Thanks for being part of the challenge!

    • chicandfrog August 17, 2012 at 17:42 #

      Thank you for hosting this challenge Peggy. I had a lot of fun making my necklace!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Link Challenge Reveal! | Wild Vanilla Designs - August 17, 2012

    […] Shelley Graham Turner ~ Fabric of My Life Tania Spivey ~ Moobie Grace Designs Ambra Gostoli ~ Chick and Frog ~ Jewels with Love Kashmira Patel ~ Sadafulee…always in bloom! Linda Florian ~ Lily’s of the Valley […]

Leave a Reply

