Sequintastic September Reveal!

29 Sep

I have had the flu with temperature, cough and everything the whole week. It wasn’t fun, but the bright side was that I could work on my project for the Sequintastic September blog hop hosted by Saturday Sequins!

I have never used sequins in my works, they are not a part of me and I wouldn’t know how to incorporate them in my designs. Nonetheless, I have always wanted to try and make some earrings using sequins.

This blog hop was the perfect occasion to give sequins a try. So, thank you Sarah!

First, I chose my palette:

And then the fun part: assembling everything together!

This is the best – and maybe the only thing – I can do with sequins.

Pretty long, eh?

It was a blast to work with them, having them jumping on my floor and everywhere. I really enjoyed it, but I don’t think I will use them so often. Sequins require a lot of patience and I don’t think I have enough dexterity to work with them.

Now I am curious to see what other artists made with sequins, so I’ll think I will hop around. Visit Sarah’s blog for the complete list of partecipants!

52 Responses to “Sequintastic September Reveal!”

  1. mylifeunderthebusPatty October 6, 2012 at 17:04 #

    OMG!!! They are awesome brilliant idea – I would never had thought of this!

  2. Susan Kennedy October 4, 2012 at 00:26 #

    Hi Ambra – yep, pretty close in design! Great job!

  3. Jewels by Ine October 2, 2012 at 20:15 #

    These earrings are stunning! Realy love them!

  4. Designs by Dawn Marie October 2, 2012 at 01:31 #

    I LOVE your earrings! I can totally see myself wearing them! They are super fun and a great use of sequins!!

  5. fulgorine September 30, 2012 at 19:26 #

    Lovely earrings, I bet they dance beautifully.

    • chicandfrog October 2, 2012 at 21:52 #

      Yes, they made quite a great impression on the dance floor. Thank you!

  6. maneki September 30, 2012 at 14:58 #

    Beautiful earrings! They look very cool and modern. Perfect colours to go together with the metal component. Linking sequins like that must’ve been very fiddly. (Myself, I made it easy and used big sequins. *lol*) Inspirational too: this hop has really made me think of stringing and linking sequins, not just embroider them or hang them.

    • chicandfrog September 30, 2012 at 16:00 #

      Embroidery is not in my genes, I chose the easiest techntique for me. I actually enjoyed the time spent with the jump rings, I would use jump rings everywhere!

Leave a Reply

