Prasarita Padottanasana

18 Feb

Not me. 🙂

They say that the asana you avoid the most is the one you need the most

I can tell you that every time we are asked to do the Wide-Legged Forward Bend, I can hear every fibre of my body screaming “NO”. And I approach the asana with a closed heart.

In my body partial defence, I have to say that a couple of years ago I injured my gracilis muscles (I guess that’s how they are called) and that’s why my body now stops with fear. I am perfectly fine now, but my body is stubborn.

I know that what I need to learn here is to overcome my stubbornness, to trust my mind and to relax. I know that with humility, practice and breathing I will give a concrete shape to the image in my mind.

There is a lot that this asana can teach me and I am willing to learn. The first step will be to change my immediate response as we spread the legs wide apart. Just changing that, keeping my focus on my breathing and being there in that moment without thinking of a possible hurting future will do the trick to approach the pose with an open mind.

Good thing is that I am not in a hurry and I will enjoy the journey to the floor.

Leave a Reply

